Kobudo - weapon art

Kobudo is the generic term of all japanese weapon arts. On the islands of Okinawa lots of martial arts developed. Some of them are practised without the use of weapons, some of them use working tools as weapons (generic term: Kobujutsu) because the wearing of weapons was forbidden in general for the Okinawians. Some examples of such weapons are the Bo (long staff), Tonfa (handle of malt-mill), Kama (small sickle) or nunchaku (flail). The fractious Okinawians are trying to strike back against the continuing repressions of the (Japanese) authorities in this way.
The staff itself is one of the oldest weapons of mankind. It is used since primeval times for militant conflicts or for hunting. It can be used as mace or truncheon.

If a student in Japan would be introduced in the art of weapon, he first had to practice the use of the Bo. Not until he managed the handling of the Bo, he could learn to master other weapons (e.g. the sword). The use of the Bo eased the access to the other weapon forms.
Nevertheless the reputation of the Bo was not that good between the warriors in old Japan, because the art of the staff could be learned very fast. Bojutsu and the fabrication of the Bo was relatively easy. The staff was not directly recognizable as a weapons as well, and it was widespread in general public. The wearing of weapons in olf Japan was only granted to the Samurai - the aristocracy. Therefore the Bo was used by the simple citizen such as farmers or merchants e.g. as walking-staff. Hence they could try to repel the assault of robbers or samurai.

The exercises are carried out with a staff about six feet long, with a thickness of about one inch. Other sizes of the staff are the Tanbo (10 inch), Hanbo (around 3 feet) and the Jo (around 4 feet).
The advantage of the staff is compared to other weapons that every part of it can be used for attack or defense in every distance. Hence it seems that the art of the staff could be learned very easy. However Kobudo requires a very high degree of concentration and self-control from the practitioner. Every mistake during practice can result in partly massive injuries.
The contents of a training session could be the following: spinning techniques, basics (learning to handle, to step, to strike), Kata (predefined sequences of steps and strikes), partner exercises and fighting. The more advanced the practitioner, the more complicated and advanced the exercises are.
Through exploitation of mass and angular momentum the Bo is very effective in long distance fights. Lots of the techniques can be executed with normal everyday objects such as belt, bag and umbrella. The use of the Bo as a weapon of self-defense should therefore not be underestimated.

Our style, Kenshinryu Kai is founded by Soke Teruo HAYASHI (1924 - 2004).
Kobu-Do is constituent of our everyday training life. We practise mainly with Bo and Tonfa.
Chef-Instructor in Germany is Ren-shi Girolamo Vermiglio, 7. Dan Karate-Do, 4. Dan Kobudo.

Kobudo - Waffenkunst

Kobudo ist der Oberbegriff für alle japanische Waffenkünste. Auf Okinawa entwickelten sich eine Vielzahl an Kampfkünsten die entweder Arbeitsgeräte als Waffen einsetzten oder waffenlos praktiziert wurden (Oberbegriff: Kobujutsu), da den Okinawanern lange Zeit generell das Tragen von Waffen verboten war. Als Beispiele hierfür sind nebem dem Bo (Langstock) Tonfa (Griffe der Schrotmühle), Kama (kleine Sichel) oder Nunchako (Dreschflegel) zu nennen. Die widerspenstigen Okinawaner versuchten sich so gegen die anhaltenden Repressionen der (japanischen) Obrigkeit zur Wehr zu setzen.
Der Stock selbst ist eine der ältesten Waffen der Menschheit. Er wurde seit Urzeiten zu kämpferischen Auseinandersetzungen oder zur Jagd benutzt, sei es als Keule oder Knüppel.

Wollte in Japan ein Schüler in die Kampfkünste eingewiesen werden, musste er erst den Umgang mit dem Bo üben, bevor ihm gelehrt wurde andere Waffen (z.B. Schwert) zu beherrschen, denn das Erlernen der Stocktechniken erleichterte den Einstieg in andere Waffenformen.
Trotzdem war der Ansehen des Bo unter den Kriegern im alten Japan nicht so gut, denn die Stockkunst konnte sehr schnell erlernt werden Bojutsu und die Herstellung des Bo war relativ einfach. Ebenfalls war der Stock nicht sofort als Waffe erkennbar, und er war unter allen Teilen der Bevölkerung verbreitet. Das Tragen von Waffen war im Japan der früheren Tag nur den Samurai, also der Adelskaste erlaubt. Deshalb benutzten einfache Bürger wie Bauern oder Kaufleute den Bo, z.B. als Wanderstab. Somit konnten sie Angriffe von Räubern oder Samurai versuchen abzuwehren.

Trainiert wird mit einem ca. 180 cm langen Stock, der idealerweise einen Durchmesser von 3 cm besitzt. Weitere Größen des Stockes sind Tanbo (25 cm), Hanbo (92 - 100 cm) und Jo (130 cm).
Gegenüber anderen Waffen hat der Stock den Vorteil, dass jedes Teil des Bo für Angriff und Abwehr in jeglicher Distanz verwendet werden kann. Somit mutet es an, als wäre der Stock eine einfach zu erlernende Kunst. Das Kobudo erfordert aber vom Übenden ein hohes Maß an Konzentration und Selbstkontrolle. Jeder Fehler im Üben mit dem Partner kann zu zum Teil schweren Verletzungen führen.
Eine Trainingseinheit kann folgende Inhalte haben: Wirbeltechniken, Grundschule (Erlernen der Griffe, Schritte Schläge), Kata (festgelegte Schritt- und Schlagabfolgen), Partnerübungen und Kampf. Je weiter fortgeschritten der Übende ist, desto weiter kommt er auf der Trainingsinhalteliste.
Durch die Ausnutzung der Masse und des Drehimpulses ist der Bo besonders effektiv in der langen Distanz einsetzbar. Viele der erlernten Techniken lassen sich genauso gut mit Alltagsgegenständen (Gürtel, Handtasche, Schirm) ausführen. Der Selbstverteidigungswert des Bo ist daher nicht zu unterschätzen.

Unser Stil, das Kenshinryu Kai wurde von Soke Teruo HAYASHI (1924 - 2004) gegründet.
Kobu-Do ist Bestandteil unsers Trainingsalltags und wir üben schwerpunktmäßig Bo und Tonfa.
Chef-Instruktor in Deutschland ist Ren-shi Girolamo Vermiglio, 7. Dan Karate-Do, 4. Dan Kobudo.