Instructor

Christian Manz

3. Dan Karate, 2. Dan Kobu-Do

I started my Shito-Ryu Karate training due to a newspaper announcement in the local press in 1987 under the guidance of Sensei Mimmo at the TSV Ludwigsburg. Approximately one year later I attended a seminar with Soke Hayashi. The softness, the precision of techniques which were demonstrated by Soke Hayashi really impressed me. This seminar affected me in a way, that it was totally clear for me: I want to train Karate for the rest of my life.

Christian Manz (rechts) zusammen mit Sensei Mimmo auf dem Sommercamp 2009 As my academic studies started I had to leave Ludwigsburg and so I took a break from Karate. My occupational career started in Freiburg, where I restarted my Karate training, this time in Shotokan style, because Freiburg didn't offer the opportunity to train Shito-Ryu Karate.

Little by little I became aware what treasure were conveyed by Sensei Mimmo and Soke Mitsuya. From 2000 on there was no other way for me, than to go back to my roots of Karate.

Since that time I drive frequently the 200km towards my old dojo in Ludwigsburg to train with Sensei Mimmo or visit the seminars of Soke Mitsuya. The chance to practise under these masters is a great development of my Karate skills with every hour I'll be there. Furthermore it enriches my life! Domo arigato gosaimashita!

In summer 2015 I decided to establish my own Karate section in an existing Budo-Club in Freiburg. But I'm still trying to implement the guidelines and to pass on the priciples which I've learned over the years from Soke, and deepened through Mimmo.

Several years I practised Tenshinsho Jigen Ryu Kobudo, Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu Iaido, Combat-Arnis and Aikido. I hold more Dan-grades in Shotokan-Karate and in Iaido.

2014 auf dem Springcamp During a stay in Japan I had the opportunity to train under the guidance of Japanes masters of several styles. But nevertheless no one reached the elegance of Soke Hayashi and Soke Mitsuya. They will always enrich my Karate life.

Trainer

Christian Manz

3. Dan Karate, 2. Dan Kobu-Do

Ich begann 1987 aufgrund einer Zeitungsanzeige unter Sensei Mimmo beim TSV Ludwigsburg mit dem Shito-Ryu Karate. Etwa ein Jahr später besuchte ich einen Lehrgang mit Soke Hayashi. Die Geschmeidigkeit, die Präzision der Techniken die Soke Hayashi auf diesem Lehrgang demonstrierte beeindruckten mich sehr stark. Dieser Lehrgang war für mich so prägend, dass es für mich klar war: Karate für den Rest meines Lebens zu trainieren.

Christian Manz (rechts) zusammen mit Sensei Mimmo auf dem Sommercamp 2009 Als ich Ludwigsburg wegen des Studiums verlassen musste, legte ich eine kurze Karatepause ein. Aus beruflichen Gründen verschlug es mich dann nach Freiburg, wo ich mein Karatetraining wieder aufnahm, diesmal im Shotokanstil, weil in Freiburg kein Shito-Ryu angeboten wurde.

Nach und nach wurde mir bewusst, welche Schätze von Sensei Mimmo und Soke Mitsuya bewahrt und vermittelt werden. Ab 2000 führte für mich persönlich kein Weg mehr daran vorbei, wieder zurück zum Ursprung meines Karate zu gehen.

Seitdem begebe ich mich regelmäßig zum Training in mein altes Dojo nach Ludwigsburg und besuche die Lehrgänge von Soke Mitsuya. Die Chance bei diesen Meistern zu trainieren bringt mein Karate mit jeder Stunde weiter und bereichert auch mein Leben. Domo arigato gosaimashita!

Im Sommer 2015 entschied ich mich dann eine eigene Karateabteilung in einem Freiburger Budo-Club zu etablieren. Aber auch hier versuche ich die Vorgaben und Prinzipien wie ich sie über die Jahre von Soke gelernt - und bei Mimmo ständig vertieft habe, weiterzugeben.

Ich übte mich auch mehrere Jahre in Tenshinsho Jigen Ryu Kobudo, Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu Iaido, Combat-Arnis und Aikido. Weitere Dan-Grade besitze ich im Shotokan-Karate und im Iaido.

2014 auf dem Springcamp Während eines Japan-Aufenthalts hatte ich die Möglichkeit, bei verschiedenen japanischen Meistern unterschiedlicher Stilrichtungen zu trainieren. Aber die Eleganz, Schnelligkeit und Präzision von Soke Hayashi und Soke Mitsuya bleibt unerreicht und wird mein Karateleben weiter bereichern.